Prerequisites

In order to be able to apply to start a PhD, some prerequisites exist:

  • Make sure you have the required titles and therefore inquire about the terms of admission and enrolment to the PhD.
  • Contact(s): admission.phd@uliege.be
  • Propose a well thought-out and planned research topic. The theme of the research can be proposed by the doctoral student themselves, who can request that a professor or seasoned PhD supervise them in this work and become their thesis supervisor. Most of the time, however, research themes are proposed by the thesis supervisor, who integrates them into the research carried out in their research unit. In any case, the very in-depth relationship between a doctoral student and their thesis topic will need to be creative!
  • Have confirmation that a professor or a senior researcher at ULiège agrees to accompany you throughout your PhD.
  • In addition to these mandatory conditions, discussing the issue of funding (for the researcher, but also for costs tied to the research) with your future sponsor is also essential -- and this, before starting.
  • A checklist is proposed for this purpose. Perhaps you envisage opportunities via an international doctoral network? It is with your potential/future sponsor that these issues should be raised.

Thinking about a doctoral project

  • Participate in a "Dare the doctorate" seminar: Masters students at ULiège can register for a half-day seminar on the question.
  • Prepare your doctoral project in 3 months with the help of a ULiège researcher: Too many critical questions remain unanswered? Is the PhD adventure for you? What skills are necessary to complete this project on time? Is this career choice appropriate? To help those who wish to start their PhD, ULiège offers a 3-month training programme in either English or French, the Certificate in doctoral project preparation : all the tools needed to get started while supervised.
Contact
Research and Innovation Administration - Doctoral Affairs

 

See the unit of Research and Innovation Administration

Conditions préalables

Afin d’être en mesure de demander à démarrer un doctorat, quelques conditions préalables sont obligatoires :

  • S’assurer de disposer des titres requis et donc se renseigner sur les modalités d'admission et d’inscription au doctorat
    Contact(s): admission.phd@uliege.be
  • Proposer un sujet de recherche réfléchi et planifié. La thématique de recherche peut être proposée par le doctorant lui-même, qui peut demander à un professeur ou à un docteur aguerri de l'encadrer dans ce travail et devenir son promoteur. La plupart du temps cependant, les thèmes de recherche sont proposés par le promoteur, qui les intègre aux recherches conduites au sein de son unité de recherche. Quoi qu’il en soit, la relation très approfondie entre un doctorant et son sujet de thèse sera nécessairement créative !
  • Avoir la confirmation qu’un professeur ou un chercheur confirmé de l’ULiège accepte de vous accompagner tout au long de votre doctorat.
  • Outre ces conditions obligatoires, discuter de la question du financement (du chercheur mais aussi des frais liés à la recherche) avec son promoteur potentiel est essentiel également et ce, avant le démarrage.
    Une check-list est proposée à ce sujet. Peut-être envisagez-vous des opportunités via un réseau doctoral international ? C’est vers votre promoteur potentiel que ces questions doivent être abordées.

Réfléchir à un projet doctoral

  • Participez à un séminaire « Oser le doctorat » : les étudiants de Master à l’ULiège  peuvent s’inscrire à un séminaire d’une demi-journée sur la question.
  • Préparez votre projet doctoral en 3 mois avec l’aide d’un chercheur de l’ULiège : Trop de questions essentielles restent en suspens ? L’aventure du doctorat est-elle pour vous ? Quelles compétences sont nécessaires pour mener à bien ce projet dans les délais impartis? Ce choix professionnel est-il pertinent ? Pour aider ceux qui le souhaitent à bien démarrer leur doctorat, l’ULiège propose une formation de 3 mois dispensée en anglais ou en français, le Certificat de préparation du projet doctoral: tous les outils pour se lancer en étant accompagné !
Contact
Administration de la Recherche et Innovation - Affaires doctorales
voir l'équipe de l'administration Recherche et Innovation