Renewable energies will be our resources of tomorrow. Among them, biomass - energy from waste plants and trees - particularly interests researchers at the University of Liège.

Biomasse Large

Research units

AGROBIOCHEM

The research theme of the Faculty Research Unit AGROBIOCHEM focuses on the valorisation of bioproducts related to the production of bio-resources. The research conducted there is aimed at developing food and non-food bioproducts through the transformation and exploitation of bio-resources, with the aim of improving the quality of life and the well-being of human and animal populations, all while preserving the environment.

learn more

TERRA

The TERRA Research Centre is a new interfaculty research unit of Gembloux Agro-Bio Tech whose mission is to develop research in biological engineering applied to agronomy, biotechnology and the environment. One of the main objectives of TERRA is to develop transversality and exchanges between researchers from different disciplines. Interfaculty and international scientific collaboration is therefore essential. TERRA is also a structure that is closely connected with the corporate world. To support its researchers, TERRA is developing a specific strategy for finding funding and setting up international projects.

3 CARE (Research and Teaching Support Units) are associated with TERRA

LEARN MORE


Facilities and equipment

Ecotron

The University of Liège has - on its Gembloux campus - an Ecotron, a tool to study agro-ecosystems, including plants (crops and weeds), animals (insects and other invertebrates) and micro-organisms. It is a design that realistically simulates real and future environmental conditions, including weather and soil conditions. Daily and seasonal variations can be reproduced, and variability controlled. Studies focus on plant growth dynamics, interacting with environmental growth factors and under biotic and abiotic constraints.

LEARN MORE


vid-img-1
Youtube

TERRA: the cutting edge of biological engineering

The TERRA Research Centre, located in Gembloux Agro-Bio Tech, brings together 175 teachers and researchers working in biological engineering applied to agronomy, biotechnology and the environment. This new multidisciplinary and international research centre, a unique structure in Wallonia, promotes scientific collaborations and interactions with the business world.

vid-img-1
Youtube

Providing value to our waste

Transforming biomass in order to provide it with value is the basis of the projects led by Aurore Richel at the Faculty of Gembloux Agro-Bio Tech. Could every consumer soon become a player of the bioeconomy?

Contact
Need information on this area of ​​research?

Share this page

Les énergies renouvelables seront nos ressources de demain. Parmi elles, la biomasse - cette énergie issues des déchets des plantes et des arbres - intéresse particulièrement les chercheurs de l'Université de Liège.

Biomasse Large

Unités de Recherche

AGROBIOCHEM

La thématique de recherche de l’Unité de recherche facultaire AGROBIOCHEM est axée sur la valorisation de bioproduits en lien avec la production de bio-ressources. Les recherches qui y sont menées visent à développer des bioproduits à vocation alimentaire et non alimentaire grâce à la transformation et la valorisation des bio-ressources, dans le but d’améliorer la qualité de vie et le bien-être des populations humaines et animales, tout en préservant l’environnement. 

TERRA

Le TERRA Research Centre est une nouvelle unité de recherche interfacultaire de Gembloux Agro-Bio Tech qui a pour mission de développer la recherche en ingénierie biologique appliquée à l’agronomie, la biotechnologie et l’environnement. Un des objectifs principaux de TERRA est de développer la transversalité et les échanges entre chercheurs appartenant à des disciplines différentes. La collaboration scientifique interfacultaire et internationale est donc essentielle. TERRA est également une structure qui interagit fortement avec le monde de l’entreprise. Pour épauler ses chercheurs, TERRA développe une stratégie spécifique en matière de recherche de financement et de montage de projets internationaux.

3 CARE (Cellules d'appui à la Recherche et à l'Enseignement) sont associées à TERRA

 EN SAVOIR +


Infrastructures et équipements

Ecotron

L'Université de Liège dispose - sur son campus de Gembloux - d'un Ecotron, un outil pour étudier les agro-écosystèmes, y compris les plantes (cultures et mauvaises herbes), les animaux (insectes et autres invertébrés) et les microorganismes. C'est une conception qui simule de manière réaliste les conditions environnementales réelles et futures, y compris les conditions atmosphériques et sol. Les variations journalières et saisonnières peuvent être reproduites et la variabilité contrôlée. Les études se concentrent sur la dynamique de croissance des plantes, en interaction avec les facteurs de croissance environnementale et sous les contraintes biotiques et abiotiques.

EN SAVOIR +


vid-img-1

TERRA : la pointe de l'ingénierie biologique

Le TERRA Research Centre, implanté à Gembloux Agro-Bio Tech, regroupe 175 enseignants et chercheurs travaillant dans l'ingénierie biologique appliquée à l'agronomie, la biotechnologie et l'environnement. Ce nouveau centre de recherche multidisciplinaire et international, structure unique en Wallonie, favorise les collaborations scientifiques et les interactions avec le monde de l'entreprise.

vid-img-1

Donner de la valeur à nos déchêts

Transformer la biomasse pour lui donner de la valeur, c'est la base des projets menés à la faculté de Gembloux Agro-Bio Tech par Aurore Richel. Chaque consommateur pourra-t-il bientôt devenir acteur de la bioéconomie ?

Contact
Besoin d'information sur ce domaine de recherche ?

Partagez cette page