The objectives of "Open Research Data" are to improve access to data from research, as well as its reuse. ULiège is currently developing the tools necessary to support its researchers in this area.

Open data

T

his approach meets several expectations: the replication and validation of research results, the non-redundancy of data collection work, improving the conservation of information, the promotion of data in the academic, economic or public context, the emergence of new opportunities for collaboration.

Any initiative led in this field must take into account the complexity of defining "research data", the nature of which can vary dramatically depending on the scientific fields, as well as the balance to be found between, on the one hand, its openness, and other the other, the protection of information for the purpose of commercialisation (IPR), the respect of private and security data.

Actions led for "Open Research Data" are part of the data management procedures. As part of the European programme for financing HORIZON2020 research, the European Commission speaks of "FAIR Data Management:  Findable, Accessible, Interoperable and Reusable.” This notion covers the different aspects of the issue.

The data should be:

  • findable: identified and sufficiently described via metadata and keywords, with a follow-up of the potential versions;
  • accessible: downloadable in disciplinary or institutional data repositories and via known and/or shared software;
  • interoperable: corresponding to use standards, with share methodologies and vocabulary;
  • reusable: covered by adequate operating licenses.

Share this page

Les objectifs de l’« Open Research Data » sont d’améliorer l’accès aux données issues des recherches et leur réutilisation. L’ULiège développe actuellement les outils nécessaires pour soutenir ses chercheurs dans ce domaine.

Open data

C

ette démarche rencontre plusieurs attentes : la réplication et la validation des résultats de la recherche, la non-redondance des travaux de collecte de données, l’amélioration de la conservation des informations, la valorisation des données dans le contexte académique, économique ou public, l’émergence de nouvelles opportunité de collaboration.

Toute initiative menée dans ce domaine doit tenir compte de la complexité de définition des « données de la recherche », dont la nature peut varier fortement suivant les domaines scientifiques, ainsi que de l’équilibre à trouver entre d’une part l’aspect ouvert et d’autre part la protection des informations en vue de la commercialisation (IPR), le respect des données privées et la sécurité.

Les actions menées pour l’« Open Research Data » s’inscrivent dans les procédures de gestion des données. Dans le cadre du programme européen de financement de la recherche HORIZON2020, la Commission Européenne parle de « FAIR Data Management : Findable, Accessible, Interoperable and Reusable ». Cette notion couvre les différents aspects de la problématique.

Les données devraient être :

  • trouvables : identifiées et suffisamment décrites via des métadonnées et des mots-clés, avec un suivi des versions potentielles ;
  • accessibles : téléchargeables dans des dépôts de données disciplinaires ou institutionnels et via des logiciels connus et/ou partagés ;
  • interopérables : correspondant à des standards d’utilisation, avec des méthodologies et un vocabulaire partagés ;
  • réutilisables : couvertes par des licences d’exploitation adéquates.

Partagez cette page