EJD-FunMat (2014)

European Joint Doctorate in Functional Materials Research

2015-01-MC : Metal oxides heterostructured films with controlled architecture for enhanced photocatalytic properties (ULg, TUDA)
2015-03-MC : Transparent electrodes based on Ag nanowire networks: Fabrication, modeling and optimization of their properties (GINP, ULg)
2015-07-MC :Theoretical study of BCTZ and related piezoelectric compounds (UBX, ULg)
2015-12-MC : Synthesis of new copolymersbased on ethylene and bio-sourced monomers, and applications as compatibilisers for cellulose in polyolefin (ULg, KIT)

Contacts : Philippe GHOSEZ

ZENCODE

Computational and functional annotation of genomic elements during development of the model vertebrate zebrafish

This network provides multi-disciplinary skills for a solid foundation in computational biology and developmental genomics. It aims to comprehensively annotate functional epigenetic and transcribed elements, decipher genomic codes of transcription, as well as coding and non-coding gene function during vertebrate development and enhance zebrafish as an attractive developmental, comparative genomic and disease model. The participants include major zebrafish genomics laboratories, eminent computational biologists and world-class genomics technology experts.

Contacts : Bernard PEERS

ISOTOPICS

Isotopic labeling for drug innovation

The aims of the ISOTOPICS project are:
i) to train the next generation of European chemists with expertise in isotopic labeling andadvanced medicinal chemistry through a first-class taught and research training program combined with a highly interactive secondments plan;
ii) to develop innovative and general isotopic labeling chemistry and radiochemistry to streamline the synthesis of labeledsmall-molecule drugs and biologics;
iii) to work closely with the European pharmaceutical industry to apply the new labeling methods to drugs currently in development in order to provide solutions to the most pressing problems in drug innovation. This highly  interdisciplinary project is expected to have a profound beneficial impact on drug innovation in Europe by providing novel efficient techniques and new experts in the fields of labeling and medicinal chemistries.

Contacts : André LUXEN

PHOENIX

People for tHe eurOpean bioENergy mIX

The development and adoption of renewable and sustainable forms of energy has become a major priority for Europe and is an important theme in H2020. Research into new, energy-related technologies to reduce Europe's reliance on nonrenewable fossil fuels is a critical need, and requires more newly qualified people in areas such as renewable-energy infrastructure management, new energy materialsand methods, as well as smart buildings and transport. Bio-energy is particularly relevant to the Work Programme, because it is at the crossroads of several key European policies from the Strategic Energy Technology Plan Roadmap on Education and Training (SET-Plan) to the European Bio-economy Strategy for European Food Safety and Nutrition Policy. So far, technological development has concentrated on using crops and wood for fuel, energy and industrial products.

Contacts : Andreas PFENNIG

INSPIRATION (2015)

Managing soil and groundwater impacts from agriculture for sustainable intensification

Agricultural production in Europe has significantly damaged soil and water resources, ecosystem biodiversity, socioeconomic well-being and contributed to climate change. Expected further intensification of production to ensure food safety for population growth must be sustainable to minimise future impacts and negative externalities. This ETN addresses these challenges by training 15 early stage researchers in cutting edge research skills and innovative approaches to manage soil and groundwater impacts from agriculture for sustainable intensification. It supports EU policy goals on food security, resource conservation, renewable energy and climate change, and the aims of the H2020 Societal Challenge 5 Work Programme for sustainable management of the environment and its resources.

Contacts : Serge BROUYÈRE

ISOMET

Atmospheric content of the most abundant of 12CH4 isotopologues from ground-based and satellite infrared solar observations and development of a methane isotopic GEOS-Chem module

The project wants to advance our knowledge of the abundance of the heavy isotopologues of methane, namely CH3D and 13CH4. A first objective will be to develop retrieval strategies allowing deriving column abundance time series for these species from ground-based high resolution solar infrared spectra. Satellite data will also support the investigations by providing high vertical resolution distributions on the global scale. The GEOS-Chem Chemistry Transport Model will be adapted and used to support the data interpretationin terms of absolute abundance, seasonal modulation and long-term trend.

Contacts : Emmanuel MAHIEU

ENIGMA (2016)

European training Network for In situ imaGing of dynaMic processes in heterogeneous  subsurfAce environments

The ENIGMA network will train a new generation of young researchers in the development of innovative sensors, field survey techniques and inverse modelling approaches. This will enhance our ability to understand and monitor dynamic subsurface processes that arekey to the protection and sustainable use of water resources. ENIGMA focuses mainly on critical zone observation, but the anticipated technological developments and scientific findings will also contribute to monitor and model the environmental footprint of an increasing range of subsurface activities, including large-scale water abstraction and storage, enhanced geothermal systems and subsurface waste and carbon storage. While many subsurface structure imaging methods are now mature and broadly used in research and practice, our ability to resolve and monitor subsurface fluxes and processes, including solute transport, heat transfer and biochemical reactions, is much more limited.

Contacts : Frédéric NGUYEN

AFROEUROPOLITANS

Cosmopolitanism Revisited: Afro-European Mobilities in Contemporary African Diasporic Literatures

African literatures attest not only to the diversity of mobilities typical of the global era, but also to the fact that Europe continues to occupy a special place in the African literary imaginary. This study analyses the ways in which African Franco- and Anglophone diasporic literatures address the idea(l) of a cosmopolitan world citizenry in varied Afro-European contexts of mobility. In order to do so, the study critically revisits the concept of cosmopolitanism and, by drawing on theory and readings of African fiction,develops a new analytical pattern reflecting the privileged, practical and critical dimensions of the concept. The study's interdisciplinary theoretical framework consists of postcolonial theory, cosmopolitanism, and mobility studies, and it applies a method of contextual close-reading which is motivated by a transnational impulse.

Contacts : Bénédicte LEDENT

ProtectED (2016)

Complex Toxicant Mixtures Throughout the Food Chain

PROTECTED aims to develop expertise and protective capabilities against Endocrine Disruptors (EDs). EDs and their mixtures are a modern day health concern leading to failing ecological systems, poor agricultural production and health effects such as obesity, cancer and infertility. While analytical methods have advanced enormously, focus has been mainly on synthetic chemicals, overlooking emerging EDs and real-life multiple substance exposure. A new generation of creative, entrepreneurial and innovative early-stage researchers equipped with skills to assess and understand the real-life risk of complex mixtures of EDs and trained to convert resulting knowledge and ideas into accessible tools and services for the long-term control of potential ED risk is urgently needed. The PROTECTED Innovative Training Network [ITN] proposes a holistic approach by providing 15 individual, personalised research projects with exposure to scientific, innovative and entrepreneurial training mobility across the ITN.

Contacts : Marc MULLER

ADOC

Characterization and monitoring of vigilance fluctuation in disorders of consciousness

This prospective exploratory study will aim at characterizing vigilance fluctuation in patients with disorders of consciousness (asdefined by a change in diurnal behavioral response over time) using neurophysiological parameters. We based this project on the assumption that changes at the Coma Recovery Scale-Revised scores (i.e., behavioral responsiveness) will be associated with a change inocular measures and EEG complexity, suggesting that some of these parameters could be used for monitoring vigilance in this population. We expect that this fluctuation will be particularly marked in patients with a minimally conscious state as compared with patients in an unresponsive wakefulness syndrome who will display a more stable pattern of response over the two days. This project aims tobetter understand the course of vigilance fluctuation in DOC and to develop an objective tool based on biomarkers that could be used at bedside to determine the best periods to assess and treat these patients.

Contacts : Steven LAUREYS

Super-Vaccine

Exploring the potential applications of live viral vaccine encoded small-hairpin-RNAs in improving both vaccine safety and efficacy through RNA-interference and stimulation of the innate immune system

Live vaccines represent one of the most important and effective interventions against the spread of viral disease. As such, they are instrumental in addressing ongoing societal challenges in areas such as healthcare and global food security. However, their capacity to genetically recombine with wild type (WT) viruses circulating in the field remains a primary safety concern. Modifying live vaccine strains to reduce such occurrences would be highly desirable from a safety perspective. Also efforts to enhance the intrinsic potency of vaccine strains would be very beneficial. This would facilitate the use of much lower doses, while reducing the manufacturing resources required to meet market needs and the cost of vaccination programs.
With this in mind, this project will explore a novel strategy to improve both the safety and efficacy of live viral vaccine strains by modifying them to express small-hairpin-RNAs (shRNAs).

Contacts : Alain VANDERPLASSCHEN

BioMedaqu (2017)

Aquaculture meets Biomedicine: Innovation in Skeletal Health research

Skeletal anomalies in farmed fish are a continuous problem for global aquaculture, affecting fish welfare, performance, and productquality. Aquaculture research has made considerable progress in reducing the incidence of deformities, but new species, intensifiedproduction, the damned for sterile fish, delicate early life stages and new fish feed ingredients are a continuous challenge. The useof zebrafish (Danio rerio) and medaka (Oryzias latipes) as models for research into human skeletal diseases such as osteoporosis,osteopetrosis and degenerative joint diseases is increasing, however their potential as models for farmed fish has not been sufficiently explored. These models offer the possibility to obtain deeper insights into the fundamental mechanisms that can cause skeletalmalformations in humans and in farmed fish. A framework for communication and scientific exchange between the aquaculture and biomedicalsectors would benefit all stakeholders and advance scientific understanding of the problem.

Contacts : Marc MULLER

PREDICT

A new era in personalised medicine: Radiomics as decision support tool for diagnostics and theragnostics in oncology

The high degree of tumour (genomic and phenotypic) heterogeneity influences patient's response to therapy and hampers wide deployment of personalised medicine for cancer treatment. Thus, there is an imperative need for new technologies that can accurately detect tumour heterogeneity, allow for patient stratification and assist clinicians in providing the right diagnosis and treatment for the right patient. PREDICT's mission is to address this huge unmet need. Radiomics, a newly emerging field that uses high-throughput extraction of large amounts of features from radiographic images, can boost the field of personalised medicine. The analysis of medicalimages taken as standard-of-care allows Radiomics to capture tumour heterogeneity and to generate "tumour-specific" signatures in a non-invasive way, without the need of assessing the patient's genetic profile. Thus, Radiomics, if linked to Big-data and decisionsupport systems (DSS), can be used as diagnostic tool for patient stratification...

Contacts : Roland HUSTINX

DoCMA

Disorders of Consciousness (DoC): enhancing the transfer of knowledge and professional skills on evidence-based interventions and validated technology for a better management of patients

The overall goal of DoCMA is to enhance international research on Disorders of Consciousness (DoC) by strengthen the collaborationamong project participants to leverage the shared scientific and expert know-how in the field.
The partnerships will be instrumental in addressing, therefore, the following specific objectives:
1) Consolidating of a joint international scientific and innovation programme for developing research projects on DoC diagnosis, evaluation and management of patients.
2) Establishing a standardised methodology, common approach and data sharing resources to enable data access and researchcollaborations concerning DoC.
3) Contributing to transfer of knowledge and quality of life of the individuals, by generating new services, technologies and/or products to respond to the society needs concerning DoC.
In short, this action will increase the scientific competence of the consortium members at the international level in DoC.

Contacts : Steven LAUREYS

CPA-EST

Mind-wandering in everyday event comprehension: Memory, attention, and the brain

Mind-wandering (MW) is the occurrence of thoughts that are decoupled from immediate perceptual inputs and unrelated to the activityat hand. MW represents a substantial part of our daily thinking time and it has substantial negative effects on reading, memory, andthe ability to focus attention. At the same time, MW can enhance creativity and afford opportunities to plan for the future. However, most of what we currently know about MW comes from laboratory studies where the tasks from which the mind wanders are simple, boring, repetitive, and do not reflect the richness of daily life events. A limited body of research using experience sampling gives acoarse-grained characterization of MW in real-life situations, but this approach cannot measure the detailed behavioral structure of MW, or its neural correlates, to reveal underlying mechanisms. To overcome this barrier, we will leverage new advances in methods tostudy naturalistic event comprehension in the laboratory.

Contacts : Arnaud D'ARGEMBEAU

MLFPM2018

Machine Learning Frontiers in Precision Medicine

Healthcare is entering the digital era: More and more patient data, from the molecular level of genome sequences to the level of image phenotypes and health history, are available in digital form. Exploring this big health data promises to reveal new insights into disease mechanisms and therapy outcomes. Ultimately, the goal is to exploit these insights for Precision Medicine, which hopes to offer personalized preventive care and therapy selection for each patient.  
A technology with transformational potential in analysing this health data is Machine Learning. Machine Learning strives to discover new knowledge in form of statistical dependencies in large datasets. Mining health data is, however, not a simple direct application of established machine learning techniques. On the contrary, the emerging population-scale and ultra-high dimensionality of health data creates the need to develop Machine Learning algorithms that can successfully operate at this scale.

Contacts : Kristel VAN STEEN

PET-AlphaSy

PET Imaging of Alpha-Synuclein Fibril Formation

Too often, physicians have to rely on a trial and error strategy until the most effective treatment for an individual patient is identified. This leads to a critical loss of time, making the healthcare system ineffective and expensive. In respect to drug development, a high failure rate is apparent at all stages of development and ways to reduce this have high priority for the pharmaceutical industry. To this end, drug development and medicinal treatment need to be more personalized and molecular imaging techniques, in particular Positron Emission Tomography (PET) imaging, can be used to achieve this by
1) evaluating the effectiveness of new treatments emerging from the pharmaceutical industry,
2) improving the ability to diagnose diseases, and
3) aid tailoring the treatment basedon individual patient pathology.
A limiting factor to develop new effective PET imaging probes is the insufficient number of radiopharmaceutical scientists presently available.

Contacts : André LUXEN

Share this page

Les Actions Marie Skłodowska-Curie (MSCA) octroient des financements pour toutes les étapes de la carrière des chercheurs - qu'il s'agisse de doctorants ou de chercheurs plus expérimentés - et encouragent la mobilité internationale, intersectorielle et interdisciplinaire.

MSCA

 

Les MSCA permettent aux organismes de recherche d'accueillir des chercheurs étrangers talentueux, quels que soit leur âge et leur nationalité, et de créer des partenariats stratégiques avec des institutions de premier plan en Europe et dans le monde entier. Plusieurs chercheurs de l'Université de Liège bénéficient de ces financements.

Lauréats MSCA IF de l'ULiège

EJD-FunMat (2014)

European Joint Doctorate in Functional Materials Research

2015-01-MC : Films d'hétérostructures d'oxydes métalliques (architecture contrôlée) avec des propriétés photocatalytiques (ULiège, TUDA)

2015-12-MC : Préparation de nouveaux copolymères à base d'éthylène et de monomères bio-sourcés et applications en tant que comptabilisants de lacellulose dans des polyoléfines (ULiège, KIT)

Contacts : Philippe GHOSEZ

ZENCODE

Annotation numérique et fonctionnelle des éléments génomiques lors de l'élaboration du modèle vertébré de poisson zèbre

Ce réseau offre des compétences multidisciplinaires pour une base solide en biologie computationnelle et en génomique du développement. Il vise à annoter de façon exhaustive les éléments épigénétiques fonctionnels et transcrits, à déchiffrer les codes génomiques de transcription, ainsi qu'à coder et à ne pas coder la fonction des gènes pendant le développement des vertébrés et à améliorer le poisson zèbre comme modèle génomique comparatif et attrayant de développement et de maladie. Parmi les participants figurent d'importants laboratoires de génomique du poisson zèbre, d'éminents biologistes computationnels et des experts en technologie génomique de calibre mondial.

Contacts : Bernard PEERS

ISOTOPICS

Marquage isotopique pour l'innovation pharmaceutique

Les objectifs du projet ISOTOPICS sont les suivants :
i) former la prochaine génération de chimistes européens spécialisés dans le marquage isotopique et la chimie médicale avancée grâce à un programme de formation et de recherche de premier ordre combiné à un plan de détachements hautement interactif ;
ii) développer une chimie et une radiochimie isotopique générale et innovante pour rationaliser la synthèse des médicaments à petites molécules marquées et des produits biologiques ;
iii) travailler étroitement avec l'industrie pharmaceutique européenne pour appliquer les nouvelles méthodes de marquage aux médicaments actuellement en développement afinde trouver des solutions aux problèmes les plus pressants de l'innovation dans le domaine des médicaments.
Ce projet hautement interdisciplinaire devrait avoir un impact bénéfique profond sur l'innovation en matière de médicaments en Europe.

Contacts : André LUXEN

PHOENIX

Personnes pour le mélange européen de bioénergie

Le développement et l'adoption de formes d'énergie renouvelables et durables est devenu une priorité majeure pour l'Europe et est un thème important dans H2020. La recherche de nouvelles technologies liées à l'énergie pour réduire la dépendance de l'Europe aux combustibles fossiles non renouvelables est un besoin essentiel et nécessite plus de personnes nouvellement qualifiées dans des domaines tels que la gestion de l'infrastructure des énergies renouvelables, les nouveaux matériaux et méthodes énergétiques, ainsi que les bâtiments intelligents et les transports . La bioénergie est particulièrement pertinente pour le programme de travail, car elle setrouve au carrefour de plusieurs politiques européennes clés - de la Feuille de route du plan stratégique pour la technologie de l'énergie sur l'éducation et la formation (SET-Plan) à la Stratégie européenne de bioéconomie pour la sécurité alimentaire européenne et la politique de nutrition.

Contacts : Andreas PFENNIG

INSPIRATION (2015)

Gestion des impacts de l'agriculture sur les sols et les eaux souterraines pour une intensification durable

La production agricole en Europe a considérablement endommagé les sols et les ressources en eau, la biodiversité des écosystèmes, le bien-être socio-économique et a contribué au changement climatique. La poursuite de l'intensification prévue de la production pour garantir la sécurité sanitaire des aliments en vue de la croissance démographique doit être durable afin de minimiser les impacts futurs et les externalités négatives. Cet ETN s'attaque à ces défis en formant 15 chercheurs en début de carrière à des compétences depointe et à des approches innovantes pour gérer les impacts de l'agriculture sur les sols et les eaux souterraines en vue d'une intensification durable. Il soutient les objectifs politiques de l'UE en matière de sécurité alimentaire, de conservation des ressources, d'énergie renouvelable et de changement climatique, ainsi que les objectifs du Programme de Travail H2020 Défi sociétal 5 pour une gestion durable de l'environnement et de ses ressources.

Contacts : Serge BROUYÈRE

ISOMET

Contenu atmosphérique des isotopologues 12CH4 les plus abondants basé sur les observations solaires infrarouges depuis le sol et les satellites et développement d'un module isotopique GEOS-Chem au méthane

Le projet vise à faire progresser nos connaissances sur l'abondance des isotopologues lourds du méthane, soit CH3D et 13CH4. Un premier objectif sera d'élaborer des stratégies de récupération permettant de dériver des séries chronologiques sur l'abondance des colonnes pour ces espèces à partir de spectres solaires infrarouges à haute résolution réalisés depuis le sol. Les données satellitaires appuieront également les analyses en fournissant des distributions à haute résolution verticale à l'échelle mondiale. Le modèle GEOS-Chem Chemistry Transport Model sera adapté et utilisé pour appuyer l'interprétation des données en termes d'abondance absolue, demodulation saisonnière et de tendance à long terme.

Contacts : Emmanuel MAHIEU

ENIGMA (2016)

Réseau européen de formation à l'imagerie in situ des processus dynamiques dans les environnements hétérogènes souterrains

Le réseau ENIGMA formera une nouvelle génération de jeunes chercheurs à la mise au point de capteurs, de techniques de terrain et d'approches de modélisation inverse innovants. Cela nous permettra de mieux comprendre et surveiller les processus dynamiques du sous-sol qui sont essentiels à la protection et à l'utilisation durable des ressources en eau. ENIGMA se concentre principalement sur l'observation des zones critiques, mais les développements technologiques anticipés et les résultats scientifiques contribueront également à la surveillance et à la modélisation de l'empreinte environnementale d'un nombre croissant d'activités souterraines, y compris le captage et le stockage à grande échelle de l'eau, les systèmes géothermiques améliorés, et le stockage souterrain des déchets et du carbone.

Contacts : Frédéric NGUYEN

AFROEUROPOLITANS

Le cosmopolitisme revisité: les mobilités afro-européennes dans les littératures de la diaspora africaine contemporaine

Les littératures africaines attestent non seulement de la diversité des mobilités qui caractérisent l'ère mondiale, mais également du fait que l'Europe continue à occuper une place privilégiée dans l'imaginaire littéraire africain. Cette étude analyse la manière dont les littératures diasporiques africaines franco- et anglophones abordent l'idée/l'idéal de citoyenneté du monde cosmopolite dans différents contextes de mobilité afro-européenne. Pour ce faire, l'étude a pour but de réexaminer le concept de cosmopolitisme et,en s#appuyant sur la théorie et la fiction africaine, de développer un nouveau schéma analytique reflétant les dimensions privilégiées, pratiques et critiques du concept. Le cadre théorique interdisciplinaire de l'étude comprend la théorie postcoloniale, le cosmopolitisme et les études sur la mobilité, et elle met en application une méthode de lecture contextuelle qui est motivée par une impulsion transnationale.

Contacts : Bénédicte LEDENT

ProtectED (2016)

Mélanges toxiques complexes tout au long de la chaîne alimentaire

PROTECTED vise à développer une expertise et des capacités de protection contre les perturbateurs endocriniens (PE). Les PE et leurs mélanges sont un problème de santé moderne qui entraîne des défaillances dans les systèmes écologiques, une production agricole médiocre et des effets sur la santé comme l'obésité, le cancer et l'infertilité. Bien que les méthodes d'analyse aient énormément progressé, l'accent a été mis principalement sur les produits chimiques de synthèse, en négligeant les nouveaux PE et l'exposition réelle à de multiples substances. Il faut de toute urgence une nouvelle génération de chercheurs créatifs, entreprenants et innovateurs, dotés des compétences nécessaires pour évaluer et comprendre le risque réel des mélanges complexes de PE, et qui soient formés pour transposer les connaissances et les idées qui en résultent en outils et services pratiques pour contrôler à long terme le risque potentiel des PE.

Contacts : Marc MULLER

ADOC

Caractérisation et suivi des fluctuations de la vigilance dans les troubles de la conscience

Cette étude exploratoire prospective visera à caractériser la fluctuation de la vigilance chez les patients atteints de troubles de conscience (définis par un changement de la réponse comportementale diurne dans le temps) à l'aide de paramètres neurophysiologiques. Nous avons fondé ce projet sur l'hypothèse que les changements à l'échelle de récupération du coma - scores révisés (c.-à-d. la réactivité comportementale) seront associés à un changement dans les mesures oculaires et la complexité de l'EEG, ce qui suggère que certains de ces paramètres pourraient être utilisés pour surveiller la vigilance au sein de cette population. Nous nous attendons à ce que cette fluctuation soit particulièrement marquée chez les patients présentant un état de conscience minimale comparativement aux patients atteints d'un syndrome de veille non réactif qui afficheront une réponse plus stable au cours des deux jours.

Contacts : Steven LAUREYS

Super-Vaccine

Explorer les applications potentielles des vaccins viraux vivants codés par des sh-ARN pour améliorer l'innocuité et l'efficacité des vaccins grâce à l'interférence de l'ARN et à la stimulation du système immunitaire inné.

Les vaccins vivants représentent l'une des interventions les plus importantes et les plus efficaces contre la propagation des maladies virales. En tant que tels, ils contribuent à relever les défis sociétaux actuels dans des domaines tels que les soins de santé et la sécurité alimentaire mondiale. Cependant, leur capacité à se recombiner génétiquement avec les virus de type sauvage (WT) circulant sur le terrain demeure une préoccupation majeure en matière de sécurité. Il serait hautement souhaitable, du point de vue de l'innocuité, de modifier les souches de vaccins vivants pour réduire ces occurrences. Des efforts visant à améliorer la puissance intrinsèque des souches vaccinales seraient également très bénéfiques. Cela faciliterait l'utilisation de doses beaucoup plus faibles, tout en réduisant les ressources de fabrication nécessaires pour répondre aux besoins du marché et au coût des programmes de vaccination.
Dans cette optique, ce projet explorera une nouvelle stratégie visant à améliorer l'innocuité et l'efficacité des souches de vaccins viraux vivants en les modifiant pour qu'elles expriment des small-hairpin ARN (ARN shRNA).

Contacts : Alain VANDERPLASSCHEN

BioMedaqu (2017)

L'aquaculture rencontre la biomédecine : Innovation dans la recherche sur la santé squelettique

Les anomalies squelettiques chez les poissons d'élevage sont un problème permanent pour l'aquaculture mondiale, affectant le bien-être, la performance et la qualité des poissons. La recherche en aquaculture a fait des progrès considérables dans la réduction de l'incidence des difformités, mais les nouvelles espèces, l'intensification de la production, les poissons stériles, les stades précoces délicats de la vie et les nouveaux ingrédients alimentaires pour poissons constituent un défi permanent. L'utilisation du poisson zèbre (Danio rerio) et du medaka (Oryzias latipes) comme modèles pour la recherche sur les maladies du squelette humain telles que l'ostéoporose, l'ostéopétrose et les maladies articulaires dégénératives augmente, mais leur potentiel comme modèles pour la pisciculture n'a pas été suffisamment étudié. Ces modèles offrent la possibilité de mieux comprendre les mécanismes fondamentaux qui peuvent causer des malformations du squelette chez les humains et les poissons d'élevage. Un cadre de communication et d'échange scientifique entre les secteurs aquacole et biomédical serait bénéfique pour toutes les parties prenantes et ferait progresser la compréhension scientifique du problème.

Contacts : Marc MULLER

PREDICT

Une nouvelle ère dans la médecine personnalisée: la radiomique comme outil d'aide à la décision pour le diagnostic et la thérapie en oncologie

Le degré élevé d'hétérogénéité tumorale (génomique et phénotypique) influe sur la réponse du patient au traitement et entrave le déploiement à grande échelle d'une médecine personnalisée pour le traitement du cancer. Il est donc impératif d'adopter de nouvelles technologies capables de détecter avec précision l'hétérogénéité tumorale, de stratifier les patients et d'aider les cliniciens à poser le bon diagnostic et à administrer le bon traitement au bon patient. La mission du PREDICT est de répondre à ce besoin immense etinsatisfait. La radiomique, un nouveau domaine émergent qui utilise l'extraction à haut débit de grandes quantités de caractéristiques à partir d'images radiographiques, peut améliorer le champ de la médecine personnalisée. L'analyse d'images médicales prises comme standard de soins permet à la radiomique de saisir l'hétérogénéité tumorale et de générer des signatures "spécifiques à la tumeur"de manière non invasive, sans avoir à évaluer le profil génétique du patient.

Contacts : Roland HUSTINX

DoCMA

Disorders of Consciousness (DoC) : améliorer le transfert des connaissances et des compétences professionnelles sur les interventions fondées sur des données probantes et la technologie validée pour une meilleure prise en charge des patients

L'objectif global du DoCMA est d'améliorer la recherche internationale sur les troubles de la conscience (DoC) en renforçant la capacité de collaboration entre les participants au projet afin de tirer parti du savoir-faire scientifique et des connaissances spécialisées partagées dans le domaine.
Les partenariats joueront donc un rôle déterminant dans la réalisation des objectifs spécifiques suivants :
1) Consolidation d'un programme international commun en matière de science et d'innovation pour le développement de la recherche sur le diagnostic, l'évaluation et la prise en charge des patients par le DoC.
2) Établir une méthodologie standardisée, une approche commune et des ressources pour le partage des données afin de permettre l'accès aux données et les collaborations de recherche concernant le DoC.
3) Contribuer au transfert des connaissances et à la qualité de vie des individus, en générant de nouveaux services, technologies et/ou produits pour répondre aux besoins de la société en matière de DoC.

Contacts : Steven LAUREYS

CPA-EST

La compréhension de l'errance mentale dans mes événements quotidienx : Mémoire, attention et cerveau

L'errance mentale (MW) est l'apparition de pensées qui sont découplées des intrants perceptuels immédiats et sans rapport avec l'activité en question. Le BEMM représente une part importante de notre temps de réflexion quotidien et a des effets négatifs importants sur la lecture, la mémoire et la capacité de concentration. En même temps, le BEMM peut accroître la créativité et offrir des possibilités de planification pour l'avenir. Cependant, la plupart de ce que nous savons actuellement sur le BEMM provient d'études en laboratoire où les tâches dont l'esprit s'éloigne sont simples, ennuyeuses, répétitives et ne reflètent pas la richesse des événements de la vie quotidienne. Un ensemble limité de recherches utilisant l'échantillonnage par expérience permet une caractérisation grossière du BEMM dans des situations réelles, mais cette approche ne permet pas de mesurer la structure comportementale détaillée du BEMM, ni ses corrélats neuronaux, pour révéler les mécanismes sous-jacents. Pour surmonter cet obstacle, nous mettrons à profit les nouveaux progrès réalisés dans les méthodes d'étude de la compréhension des événements naturalistes en laboratoire.

Contacts : Arnaud D'ARGEMBEAU

MLFPM2018

Les frontières du machine learning en médecine de précision

Les soins de santé entrent dans l'ère numérique : de plus en plus de données sur les patients, du niveau moléculaire des séquences du génome au niveau des images phénotypiques et des antécédents médicaux, sont disponibles sous forme numérique. L'exploration de ces grandes données sur la santé promet de révéler de nouvelles perspectives sur les mécanismes de la maladie et les résultats thérapeutiques. En fin de compte, l'objectif est d'exploiter ces connaissances pour la médecine de précision, qui espère offrir des soins préventifs et thérapeutiques personnalisés pour chaque patient.  
Le machine learning est une technologie ayant un potentiel de transformation dans l'analyse de ces données sur la santé. Le machine learning s'efforce de découvrir de nouvelles connaissances sous forme de dépendances statistiques dans de grands ensembles de données. Toutefois, les données sur l'état de santé de l'exploitation minière ne sont pas une simple application directe des techniques établies d'apprentissage automatique. Au contraire, l'émergence de données sur la santé à l'échelle de la population et à très haute dimensionnalité crée le besoin de développer des algorithmes de machine learning qui peuvent fonctionner avec succès à cette échelle.

Contacts : Kristel VAN STEEN

PET-AlphaSy

Imagerie PET de la formation de fibrilles alpha-synucléines

Trop souvent, les médecins doivent se fier à une stratégie d'essais et d'erreurs jusqu'à ce que le traitement le plus efficace pour un patient donné soit identifié. Il en résulte une perte de temps critique, ce qui rend le système de santé inefficace et coûteux. En ce qui concerne la mise au point de médicaments, le taux d'échec est élevé à toutes les étapes de la mise au point et les moyens de le réduire sont hautement prioritaires pour l'industrie pharmaceutique. À cette fin, le développement de médicaments et le traitement médicamenteux doivent être plus personnalisés et des techniques d'imagerie moléculaire, en particulier la tomographie par émission de positons (PET), peuvent être utilisées pour y parvenir en
1) évaluant l'efficacité des nouveaux traitements issus de l'industrie pharmaceutique,
2) améliorant la capacité à diagnostiquer les maladies et
3) aidant à adapter le traitement en fonction des pathologies individuelles du patient.
L'un des facteurs limitant la mise au point de nouvelles sondes d'imagerie TEP efficaces est le nombre insuffisant de scientifiques radiopharmaceutiques actuellement disponibles.

Contacts : André LUXEN

CONTACT MSCA IF à l'ULiège
Plus d'infos sur les bourses MSCA ?

Partagez cette page